• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

Seeking advice of a sales pro...

cricket08

Inactive
Inactive User
Season's Greetings everyone. What a fabulous forum this is. I have a couple questions for the radio pro's out there...

I'm thinking of applying for a sales position at a local radio station in my city. I have some sales experience, but nothing related to radio. I'm completely changing careers, actually, from 6 years in career/employment counselling and instructing. (other experience includes selling advertising for a 'yellow pages'-like product, door to door promotion sales, sales of nutritional products, and producing a documentary film). I'm changing directions because I'm craving something super-creative, challenging, and with open income potential.

My questions...
1. Can I get into radio sales with limited sales experience (about 2 yrs total)?

2. What makes a great radio sales rep?

3. Is there anything specific I should highlight on my resume?

4. Do you recommend any texts/books I can study before the interview?

Many thanks to anyone that can offer their wisdom to any of the above. And Happy Holidays!!

~Cricket

I'll bite, quickly, maybe others will fill in the gaps...

1. yes