• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

Replacing the DJ: Virtual Personality Technology Radio

Has anyone heard of actual djs being replaced by "Computer Personalities?"

If so, please provide call letters of radio stations using this technology. Also, what's your opinion of this new technology.? Thanks! Joshzz

I'm no programmer, but unless something miraculous has dawned in the past year, the only thing I can think of that would classify as a 'Computer Personality' would text-to-speech (TTS) technology. Never mind your listeners; imagine yourself listening to a GPS-like 'voice' delivering your station liners and 'reading' promotional copy.

As it is text-to-speech, everything you want your 'personality' to say would have to be written ahead of time. Not only that, but a big part of what makes human speech so enjoyable to listen to is that emphasis on the proper words and syllables, the ability to suddenly speak louder or softer, add any kind of true emotion is automatic and/or spontaneous... two things a robot just isn't capable of doing just yet. So, for example, a spur of the moment bit of real humor sparked by something relevant that just entered the mind of a living, breathing, thinking person would not be possible.