• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

Need some advice

Hey everyone, I'm a high school student in the San Francisco Bay Area. I'm really into radio and have also become active in a youth ministry. Anyone have any ideas about how I can get involved in CCM Radio?

travisl5678 said:
Hey everyone, I'm a high school student in the San Francisco Bay Area. I'm really into radio and have also become active in a youth ministry. Anyone have any ideas about how I can get involved in CCM Radio?

I guess the first question I would ask is - is there any CCM station in the Bay area?

If there is, you need to determine if it is for profit or non-profit. There probably isn't a lot of ways into a commercial station. But non-profits always operate on razor thin margins, and could probably use all the volunteer help they can get. You might start by answering the phones or sweeping out the place, but as you get known as a faithful volunteer, and make contacts at the station, you might be able to ask for a try behind the mike. I'd wait before doing it until they know you, but it is a heavily networked industry and those contacts you make will help.

Hats off to you - I'd venture to say you are operating in enemy territory! My daughter and her friend (14 years old at the time) were "treated" to a naked bicycle parade the last time we were out there. So - yeah - the Bay area needs Christ!

Travis,