• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

LW questions

glenn

Inactive
Inactive User
A few questions about Long Wave reception since I am new at this hobby....I have been mainly interested in MW and the Tropical band since picking up this hobby on the first of the year and am now curious about adding the LW band as well...
1) Is it mainly seasonal like the Tropicals ?
2) Are there many broadcasts on LW or is it mainly beacons etc. ?
3) Is the best time to receive LW after dark ?
4) Living in Ohio (USA) are my chances good or bad or indifferent when it comes to receiving LW receptions?
5) I have a Quantum QX loop with both the MW and Tropical loop heads and understand that Gerry also makes a head for LW....any experience with his LW head ?..... I also have a Wellbrook ALA-1530+ on a rotator that will end up in my attic due to housing owners restrictions on outside antennas and I will mainly be using it in my office on my Drake R-8 and the QX is hooked up to a Drake SW-8 in my living room (where I do most of my DXing)
6) Will I need to use the R-8 and 1530+ for LW DXing or do you feel the SW-8 and QX with the LW head will do the job ??
Any assistance in answering these questions for me would be much appreciated...
73's
glenn (buckeyeair)

Glenn.