• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

FREELANCE PRODUCTION RATES

FreddyB

Inactive
Inactive User
Got a call from a friend who has a syndicated radio show, and he wants to edit down some of his older shows for archiving and "best of" shows. Now, I work full-time as a VO, but I've been a production nut for many years (yes, I go back to the razor blade and splice tape days). I have never done freelance production, so I have no idea what to quote him. My question: what is a fair rate to do something like this?

Only YOU can determine what to charge.
For editing, I would go with an hourly rate.

If you don't know what to charge, maybe you're not a pro (as in, this is how I pay my mortgage), yet.
Not meant as an insult :), you could be quite skilled.

A good starter rate might be $25 per hour for editing only.
Professional, commercial studios are usually around $100 per hour.

surfdude said:
Only YOU can determine what to charge.
For editing, I would go with an hourly rate.

If you don't know what to charge, maybe you're not a pro (as in, this is how I pay my mortgage), yet.
Not meant as an insult :), you could be quite skilled.

A good starter rate might be $25 per hour for editing only.
Professional, commercial studios are usually around $100 per hour.

I was thinking $75 per hour. Maybe I'll go for 50.