• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

A down converting dilemma

Full disclosure statement: I am not an engineer and have limited knowledge but I am always interested in learning.

Our school district has a local access cable TV station that, during the school day, works like this. The programming comes from the PBS broadcast affiliate. It comes from or through one of their sub-channels which they call "A-4". They send it (I think via fiber) to the head end of where all of the local access channels emanate from. Those folks put it over the cable access channel. PBS is going to show, on their "American Experience" series, a program about an internationally reknowned local legend. The local affiliate got permission for our school district to have the program on the local access station, for in school use. While they can run this, it appears that there is engineering work of some significance that has to be accomplished in advance to make it work. If it was only going to be shown once, they would do one thing, but if there are going to be multiple showings, they have to do something else. Down converting is one thing mentioned which I take to mean converting it from HD to standard definition. Anybody got an idea what's going on engineering-wise?

Not entirely sure I understand what you're asking.

- This program is going to be broadcast on your local PBS station, and you want to re-run it on your local-access channel?