• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

A Mushy Sounding AM Radio Station Mystery - How Can I Solve It?

The mom and pop company I work for is looking into leasing or buying a nearby small market AM. I have some limited engineering experience in FM but have never tackled an AM station.

The owners think there's room for a niche music format on the AM.

When inspecting the facilities, eveything seemed fine in the audio chain. Yet when we listened to it on several different radios, the audio sounded lifeless and dull with the music sounding blurred, unable to hear distinct instruments. Like it was broadcasting through a wet sock my boss said.

The transmitter is a fairly new BE and they are using an older model Orban AM processor. They are using a Marti STL. The TX facilities were fairly new and the radials were only a few years old and intact. It appeared that good engineering practices had been in place, that is, it certainly wasn't a "dog".

I know that many people advise against music on AM, but a couple of nearby AM station are playing a music format and they sound lively and clear -- at least for AM.

So my question is -- where to begin to figure out why the station sounds muddy and dull.

Thanks in advance.

Lots of possible problem areas from the TX through to the antenna. Also, if any portion of the plant is Stereo perhaps you have a phase reversal somewhere before the audio is summed.