• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

Seeking Rock-n-Roll Radio DJs of the 1950s, '60s & '70s - book project!

Irishwriter

Inactive
Inactive User
Hi Ya-All! I'm new to the radio-info boards and rather than "on the radio," I'm writing about it! I am currently researching for a book project about the rock-n-roll radio DJs of the '50s, '60s & '70s. While of course, I will talk about the "biggies" -- Wolfman Jack, The Real Don Steele, Cousin Brucie, Shotgun Tom Kelly and so many more -- I am also paying tribute to those wild-n-crazy guys (and any gals?) who helped shape that spectacular radio era, and kept us rockin' but may not have reached super-stardom. As you might imagine, I'm getting contacts for both coasts, but I really need north, south and midwest DJs.

I loved the Real Deal Bob Steele's comments about keeping that era of music alive -- which is what I'm trying to do, too. It's so heartening to hear of the young people "in the groove"! Oh -- which reminds me -- I'm also seeking FANs' memories of their favorite DJs -- back in the day when the late night DJs were our personal shrinks and the daytime jocks REALLY rocked!

AND I would like to find contacts for some rock-n-roll celeb musicians of the day, for quotes about DJs they may have connected with, or were instrumental in getting them air-play.