• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

RIP Teena Marie

H

hornet61

Soul Singer Teena Marie died at age 54, no details of cause.... great stuff from Teena, especially with Rick James..Her dedication to R&B was huge , she once said "I am a black artist, with white Skin",

Goodbye "Lovergirl".....

As a "pop" music listener, "Lovergirl" was about the only song by her that I was really familiar with. I wish the record company had not done that early fade with the rap at the tail end of it, because that early fade often forced djs to cut it off during the rap piece at the end of it.

firepoint525 said:
As a "pop" music listener, "Lovergirl" was about the only song by her that I was really familiar with. I wish the record company had not done that early fade with the rap at the tail end of it, because that early fade often forced djs to cut it off during the rap piece at the end of it.
I am am older and the only reason I was familiar with Teena Marie was thru my club work, If I had a nickel for every time I played "Fire and Desire" w/Rick James or Square Biz, I'd be debt free. With Album versions, single versions, and in that era, the extended Mixx versions there was all kinds of editing done.