• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

Playlists & Local DJ's

BigHoss

Inactive
Inactive User
I put this on another thread and probably should of started a new one so here goes:

I am not a radio pro...just a pro listener I guess. To date myself I have heard Wolfman-Jack live before but pretty much grew up in the 60-70's on the Texas Gulfcoast.

Today I prefer antique rock as I call it from the 60-70's and wish there was more of it.

I guess I am a dying breed who likes broad play lists and local live dj's, who can comment on local things.

Do I have much hope with this type of format surviving much longer? In Houston is is about dead with all the termoil of late.

And why are the playlist so short? Man it seems like 20-30 songs over and over.

Thanks for any input...an old time workin' stif 'preciates it!

Robert in Houston

Well, since no one else appears to be biting, I guess I'll take my lone stab at it...

First, you're like me, Hoss, you like broad playlists and live, local jox...be it ever so humble, but in my opinion, live 'n' local is what gives radio its soul. In fact, that's how radio USED to be. Not saying that there's no place for syndication, but it should be there to accent your programming, not comprise your programming.