• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

How bad does Radio Cairo sound?

Radio Cairo has been a running joke in SWDX circles for decades. Horrible, unintelligible modulation as well as long periods of dead air or being off completely.

I’ve been listening to shortwave since the mid-1960s, and the last time I heard consistently good broadcast quality out of Radio Cairo was probably in the mid-1970s. It started deteriorating in the latter years of the Sadat regime and has been all downhill since then.

The station is a victim of the same ills that plague Radio Havana Cuba: incompetent engineering and indifferent management.

Radio Cairo has been a running joke in SWDX circles for decades. Horrible, unintelligible modulation as well as long periods of dead air or being off completely.

I’ve been listening to shortwave since the mid-1960s, and the last time I heard consistently good broadcast quality out of Radio Cairo was probably in the mid-1970s. It started deteriorating in the latter years of the Sadat regime and has been all downhill since then.

The station is a victim of the same ills that plague Radio Havana Cuba: incompetent engineering and indifferent management.
I started in the shortwave hobby about the same time and can't recall R. Cairo ever sounding good. Its North American service was on 9475 and always sounded muddy and undermodulated.