• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

Best alternative to Rangemaster TX?

Hey gang, I need some advice or suggestions.

I have a Rangemaster that has been on the air since 2007 and it doesn't miss a beat. Except for our local power outages, it runs through wind, sun, rain..haven't even had trouble during T-storms with this unit.

I've fallen a few times over the past couple of years while working on projects involving height (thankfully, I was not injured in any of them!) My wife and family have pretty much convinced me that I should find a transmitter that I don't have to climb on a ladder to do maintenance on. Quite often there are not other adults around during the day so I have to wait until someone else is around..and by then it's dark and thus difficult for me to see, since I am legally blind to begin with.

I'm kind of leaning toward an iAM with a range extender but wondered if there were any others I should consider before making a final decision.

I am on a 17-acre farm so don't have "neighbor problems" or neighborhood association problems to worry about.

Thanks for your help.

mount it 6ft off ground, and put a full 64 x 25ft radials under it. you should do well without it needing to be up high.

The SSTran is a great alternative. But the $300 antenna to get it up to par with the rangemaster is kinda hefty. but its ground level and rivals the range of the range master.