• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

KING TV studio update

I have been giving updates on the KING SoDo studios for over 6 months now. What I originally said is coming into play here this summer. Watch as they do more broadcasts from the 2nd floor of the complex, still looking over Safeco. Whether they eventually move everything up to the 2nd floor, I'm not sure. But this offers a much better outlook, and now that NWCN is gone, there may be more room to relocate the main studio up on 2. (I have no inside info on this one! and am not even sure the ceiling heights would allow it)...

Last edited:
So? What's your point?

The point, I imagine, is that the KING studio was inadequate from day one. Compared to the expansive sets over at KOMO, KIRO, and KCPQ, KING 5 is small and poorly lit. It looks like they are doing the news from a warehouse, not a news set.

This.

The point is simple. KING TV, with their move, made a major mistake. They tried to build a set in a small area that just didn't cut it. They have been scurrying to find a solution, and they are looking to the 2nd floor for answers. I don't know if this is the ultimate solution, but I am sure that execs are trying to find the solution. Unfortunately, they don't have much to work with.