• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

104.7 How can this be?

I'm no engineer but have been able to see several applications for stations. First, Radio Locator is predicted coverage. Predicted can be different from real life coverage. Second, you note three areas of coverage. These are 60, 50 and 40 dbu coverage areas. A radio station next to another many times reaches the 40 dbu contour. I think you cannot touch the 54 dbu line. In other words you can interfere in the 40 dbu area. Keep in mind, almost all listening is within the 60 dbu. the inner circle.

For some reason, people think stations simply go on and do what they want. The FCC has rules and separation requirements that have been the same for many years. Simply put, you apply to the FCC and unless it meets the separation rules it is not approved and you cannot build the station. What you are experiencing is the use of the FM dial up to the minimum separations as required by the FCC Rules as they have been all along.

How were they able to squeeze in 3 stations (2 LP and 1 translator) onto the 104.7 frequency in South Florida?
And notice that 2 of them, same frequency, are licensed to Miami. ???
W284CS's three methods are to use directionality, directionality, and directionality.
In their weakest directions, the translator's ERP is something like ¾ of a watt.
They hammer a lot more signal than that, into the ground below.