• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

Questions Regarding FM Transmitter

Hello Everyone - I'm a newbie interested in using an FM transmitter to broadcast music around my property. I have multiple receivers setup across a couple of acres - each has it's own speaker system. I want to use the transmitter to synchronize them from a single source. I found a device on eBay that looks promising: ST-15B 1.5W/15W stereo PLL FM Transmitter Broadcast Station .. I'm curious whether anyone has any experience with this device and could share their opinion given my situation. I would also be very interested in hearing other recommendations for transmitter. Thank you in advance !

By the way - I did try searching the forum prior to posting the question, but I received an error in both the advanced and regular search. Thanks

The unit you refer to is capable of running FAR more than LEGAL power!! Plus....it's more than likely set up for 50 uS pre-emphasis instead of 75 -- and NOT easily field-adjustable! (DON'T ask me how I know....!!!;))
NO LEGAL PART 15 CERTIFIED TRANSMITTER will cover "a couple of acres" reliably! If you "add-on" an antenna you've now made the transmitter ILLEGAL!
The rule-of-thumb for Part 15 FM: Essentially, field strength MUST NOT EXCEED 250uV @ 3 meters (10 feet)....REGARDLESS of other factors (altitude, topography, etc.)
Sorry that this isn't much help to you.....but it's (for NOW, anyway....!) the LAW!