• Get involved.
    We want your input!
    Apply for Membership and join the conversations about everything related to broadcasting.

After we receive your registration, a moderator will review it. After your registration is approved, you will be permitted to post.
    If you use a disposable or false email address, your registration will be rejected.

After your membership is approved, please take a minute to tell us a little bit about yourself.
    https://www.radiodiscussions.com/forums/introduce-yourself.1088/

Thanks in advance and have fun!
    RadioDiscussions Administrators

If You Were to Bring Smooth Jazz Back to the ATL, How Would You Program It?

I am not a program director. I don't even work in AM/FM radio. I'm just an Average Joe listener. I'm aware of the format flips that have been happening across the country. Atlanta became a victim over a year ago. If you were to bring Smooth Jazz back to Atlanta, how would you program it? I'm asking because since Clear Channel is trying to make this "Groove" thing work out? They may want to flip 105.7 WWVA north of the city from Rhythmic AC to Smooth Jazz and keep the Groove name. As for 96.7 south of the city, they could either come up with another name and keep the Rhythmic AC, or come up with another format to flip it to. Another contender to potentially bring Smooth Jazz back to Atlanta could be Cox Radio concerning 97.1 the River. If Classic Hits is really getting beat out by Oldies over at True Oldies 106.7 (of course, it has been talked about on this board that the River may be seeing its potential death before the year is over), Cox could keep the River name and flip 97.1 from Classic Hits to Smooth Jazz. Either company it would be doable. On the plus side of Smooth Jazz (in case anyone didn't know), Dave Koz is slated to make a stop in Atlanta during this upcoming Christmas season as part of the Dave Koz & Friends Christmas tour. If they get a very good turnout, Cox or Clear Channel could go through wit